About Nellore !

History of Nellore!

Nellore is a city and municipal corporation in the state of Andhra Pradesh. Nellore is the 4th most populous city in Andhra Pradesh after the separation of Telengana from Andhra Pradesh and the Sri Potti Sri Ramulu Nellore districtadministrative headquarters. The ancient name of Nellore was "Vikrama Simhapuri" until the 13th century.Nellore is situated about 279 kilometres (173 mi) south of the state capital Andhra Pradesh Capital City and 168 kilometres (104 mi) north of Chennai on the Chennai-Kolkata highway. It is located on the banks of the Penner River and is well known for its agriculture and aquaculture.

Proximity to the sea and fertile land towards the east have led to agriculture and aquaculture being the backbone of the economy. The district has a cultivable area equal to 41.3 percent and the crops which are most commonly grown in the district are paddy, jowar, bajra along with tobacco, chillies, groundnut and sugarcane. Handloom, mica mines, thermal power generation and hand made jewellery are other industries that contribute to the economic development. Also salt production is the most popular in nellore mostly (Gogulapalli, Iskapalli and Ramathirdam villages). For the salt production nellore takes the top most place in AP. Krishnapatnam port which is located 20 kilometers from the district serves as a major center for economic activity of the district.

Dams of Nellore!

Somasila Dam


Kandaleru Dam


Popular people from Nellore

  • Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu: Born on 1 July 1949 at Chavatapalem, Nellore, Andhra Pradesh.Following the historic victory of the BJP in the 2014 general elections, he has sworn is as the Minister for Urban Development and Parliamentary Affairs on 26 May 2014.
  • Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy (1935-2014) - Indian politician, Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh from 1990 to 1992.
  • Bezawada Gopala Reddy (1907-1997) - Indian politician
  • Puchalapalli Sundaraiah (1913-1985) - founding member of the CPI (M)
  • Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu (born 1949) - Union Minister of Urban Development
  • Singeetam Srinivasa Rao (born 1931) - South Indian film director
  • S. P. Balasubrahmanyam (born 1946) - Indian playback singer and actor
  • A. Kodandarami Reddy - film director
  • Ponaka Kanakamma (1892-1963) - social worker and activist
  • Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer (1883-1953) - member of the Constituent Assembly of India
  • Gunturu Seshendra Sarma - poet
  • M. S. Reddy (1924-2011) - film producer
  • A. M. Rathnam - film producer
  • Vanisree (born 1948) - film actress